• JelleWho@lemmy.world
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    10
    arrow-down
    1
    ·
    1 month ago

    Fun fact, cheese is not always vegetarian. It can (quite often) contain animal rennet (from the inside of a young cow stomage, the cow needs to die for this)

        • 🍉 DrRedOctopus 🐙🍉@lemmy.world
          link
          fedilink
          arrow-up
          1
          ·
          1 month ago

          I’m not bringing any moral value, just the note that synthetic remnet is cheaper then real one, another commenter said that about 60% of cheeses use it,i thought it would be much more.

      • JelleWho@lemmy.world
        link
        fedilink
        arrow-up
        3
        arrow-down
        2
        ·
        1 month ago

        As a person who check all cheese in the supermarket for this. The current state (EU/NL) is almost 60%, 60% of the cheese in our supermarket is without murdering baby cows. Which I up from last year, and it has been trending up for a while.

        I have no clue how other countries are doing, my guess us worse. Some france people still label ‘Fish’ as ‘Vegan’